Skip to content


2010 Dakar Rally Stage Fourteen: Carlos Sainz Takes His Win!

Carlos Sainz exorcised the demons of twelve months ago as he held off a determined Nasser Al-Attiyah on today’s final stage to add a Dakar victory to his two WRC titles.   The Spaniard started the final 206km with an overall lead of 2:48 over his VW teammate, which immediately started to be whittled away as Al-Attiyah (and his co-driver Timo Gottschalk) started at an astonishing pace, racing to the first timing point at 66km in only 25 minutes.   However, Sainz, with Lucas Cruz in the other seat, was right behind, making the most of the favorable conditions, cutting down on the dust hanging in the air. He came to the same point only four seconds slower than the Qatari.   On the fast, flat run to Buenos Aires, it was always likely to ta...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.