Skip to content


FYI WIRZ: 10 Different NASCAR Winners Roar to Kentucky

When NASCAR changed its playoff system, the Chase for the Sprint Cup, to an elimination grid of 16 that places more emphasis on winning, driver mindsets seemed to change as well.  NASCAR had to envision that its drivers would be more intense about wins, and for the most part, that is what has happened. In NASCAR history, only twice has the number of different winners reached 16. That reality has led to the notion that a win secures a spot in the Chase. Presently, after 16 races, 10 different winners have been to Victory Lane in 2014. Only 10 races remain before the 10-race gauntlet-style Chase. The quest for a playoff spot is more than half over. The urgency of securing a win is rising. After getting a win, drivers and teams can afford...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.