Skip to content


Indy Car Series: One Champion Is Not Enough

At the end of last season, Dario Franchitti stood alone on top of the podium as he received his Championship hardware. This might not be the case for this year's Champ. The Indy Car Series will now reward points winners on its two racing disciplines; oval courses, and street and road courses, awarding their own titles this season in addition to crowning an overall points champion.

The chase for the road/street course title will end Aug. 22 at Infineon Raceway in California. The oval course chase will end Sept. 19 in Motegi, Japan. The season finale, Oct. 2 at Homestead, Fla., will recognize the overall champion. Each of the winning drivers and teams will earn bonuses. The format is the same as it is for the overall championship, a...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.