Skip to content


IndyCar Series: Witch Hunt, Are You In?

A competitor in a road race has a gearbox malfunction. He pits, but the box is jammed in fourth gear. The team opts to send him back out to finish the race instead of effecting the time-consuming repairs.

Dude motors around well off the pace, stacking up traffic at several corners on the circuit. He wants to stay out and maybe collect a couple of extra championship points, and his sponsor would rather see the car on track. So he does his best to yield the racing line, but it is what it is. No way he can stay in the hunt.
Should he be black flagged? In my opinion yes, but it depends on the rules. If the rules specify a minimum speed in relation to the leaders, there is no grey area. Too slow = day over.

If the rul...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.