Skip to content


Is a 16-Driver Chase for the Sprint Cup Championship Overkill?

2014 marks the 10th anniversary of NASCAR's Chase for the Cup, the annual playoff system that pits the best of the best after 26 races in a winner-take-all playoff chase for the championship over the course of the final 10 races. Despite being met with much criticism in 2004, the inaugural Chase for the Cup met much success, as Kurt Busch defeated Jimmie Johnson by eight points to win his first (and to date only) Cup championship driving the No. 97 Ford for Jack Roush.  One thing that made it so great was the size of the Chase field that Busch had to best. Ten of NASCAR's best were going to fight for the Cup championship. A very small, very elite group out of many would be the focal point of NASCAR for 10 weeks. That was enough to give...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.