Skip to content


Jenson Button Wins 2009 Formula One Championship

Red Bull and Mark Webber may have won the battle, but Brawn GP and Jenson Button won the war at Formula One's penultimate race in Brazil. Webber, starting from P2, led most of the Grand Prix of Brazil on the way to his second win of the season, but in the end, Button's fifth-place finish was enough to clinch his first world driver's championship. In his seventh year with the Brawn GP team, counting its previous incarnations as BAR and Honda, Button blossomed at the beginning of the season, winning six of seven races. Since then, he has come under fire for not "driving like a champion" in the worldwide press, but has nonetheless amassed enough points with his Brazil finish to take the title. The only two drivers mathematically eligible to ca...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.