Skip to content


Jimmie Johnson: How Do Five Straight Championships Compare To Other Dynasties?

Jimmie Johnson has won his fifth consecutive Sprint Cup Championship. Let that sink in for a minute. Five in a row. Richard Petty dominated this sport for over 20 years. He won seven titles in his career. That's only two more than JJ has since the first season of "Bones."

The great Dale Earnhardt, whom many consider the great driver ever to put on a fire suit, also won seven times. It took him between the late 1970s until 2001 to accumulate them. Jeff Gordon, for all his great accomplishments since he began Cup racing in 1994 has only four. I say "only" like it's a bad thing. Who else has won five championships in a row? There is UCLA basketball in the late '60s and early '70s. The Bruins won seven straight from 1967 to 1973. The Bo...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.