Skip to content


Lewis Hamilton and Formula 1’s Winners of BBC Sports Personality of the Year

By winning the 2014 BBC Sports Personality of the Year, Lewis Hamilton joined a select group of British athletes to be awarded what is perhaps the country's most prestigious multi-sport honour. The 2014 Formula One world champion pushed golf's Rory McIlroy, winner of two majors in 2014, into second place. European 10,000-metre gold medallist Jo Pavey was third. It was third time lucky for Hamilton, who secured almost 34 percent of the vote—he had been second in both 2007 and 2008. But surprisingly, given the United Kingdom's rich motorsport heritage, he is only the fifth F1 driver to win the award. Many of the U.K.'s most famous champions, including Graham Hill, Jim Clark and James Hunt, were never voted as winners. Here, we look back...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.