Skip to content


Marcos Ambrose Wins Pole, Looks to Successfully Defend 2012 Watkins Glen Win

Through the first 21 races of the 2013 Sprint Cup Series season, no driver has successfully defended a race win from 2012. Marcos Ambrose took a big step toward becoming the first driver to do just that when he qualified on the pole for Sunday's Cheez-It 355 at Watkins Glen. Ambrose won the pole with a fast lap of 128.241 miles per hour. The lap took him 68.777 seconds to complete on the 2.45-mile road course. Ambrose's pole-winning lap also set a new track record. Clint Bowyer, Martin Truex Jr., A.J. Allmendinger and Kyle Busch round out Sunday's top-five starters. The 10 fastest drivers in qualifying all broke the old track record of 127.02 miles per hour, set by Juan Pablo Montoya one year ago. This is the third pole win of Ambrose's car...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.