Skip to content


Max Verstappen Living Up to Ayrton Senna Comparisons with Spanish Grand Prix Win

In the 1990s, there were 10 first-time Formula One grand prix winners. In the 2000s, there were 14. This decade, at least until Sunday, there had only been three: Nico Rosberg, Pastor Maldonado and Daniel Ricciardo. Red Bull and Mercedes (and, more specifically, Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton) have largely dominated the 2010s, leaving precious little room for newcomers to break into the exclusive club of grand prix winners, which numbers only 106 over the the 66-year history of F1. But at the Spanish Grand Prix on Sunday, 18-year-old Max Verstappen did just that, also setting the record as the youngest race winner in the sport's history. Yes, it took a double-retirement from the championship-leading Mercedes team to set up Ve...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.