Skip to content


NASCAR: Can Denny Hamlin Avoid the Jimmie Johnson Curse?

Denny Hamlin won eight NASCAR Sprint Cup races in 2010 and had his best ever finish in the points, finishing second to Jimmie Johnson. How does that bode for his 2011 season? Take a look at the recent history of the drivers who finished runner up during Johnson's five year title run. In 2006, second place Matt Kenseth won four races. The following year, he slipped to fourth in the standings and saw his victory total cut in half. In 2007, Jeff Gordon won six races and pushed Johnson to the wire. The next year, he went winless for the first time since his rookie campaign. In 2008, Carl Edwards led all drivers with nine victories while challenging Johnson for the title. He failed to reach Victory Lane the following season and dropped all the w...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.