Skip to content


NHRA Countdown or NASCAR Chase: The Playoffs Rule

When NASCAR changed the Sprint Cup points system in 2004, they created a playoff scheme they later dubbed the Chase for the Sprint Cup. The 10-race Chase at the end of the 36-race season lines up 12 drivers with the highest "regular season" points against each other with a new set of points. Tweaking increased the field to 12 from the original 10. Then NASCAR awarded 10 bonus points for a win.  Some fans and drivers complained then about the change and some still do, but most drivers and a majority of fans have endorsed a Chase playoff system that has worked. The Chase increased excitement at the end of the year. The NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series followed NASCAR’s lead in 2006 by creating their Countdown to 1, a...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.