Skip to content


Title Count: Which NASCAR Star Will Complete the Drive for Five?

In 2001 when Jeff Gordon won his last championship, fans and the media began the mantra “Drive for Five”. For years, Gordon’s fans spent the beginning of the season chanting the famous battle cry; hoping, praying, and wishing for their favorite driver to win the elusive fifth title. That was until Jimmie Johnson came along and has gone on to win four championships in a row. Now Johnson fans are claiming their driver will complete the drive for five first. Since then, Gordon has finished ahead of Johnson just once, in 2002. “It’s a bittersweet thing because as an (owner), I’m proud of what the team has accomplished,” he says of the No. 48 team’s sustained success. “As a driver, we won the championship in ’01 when they ran...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.