Skip to content


Will Renault Be Competitive in Their Return as an F1 Constructor?

Renault announced their return as a Formula One constructor last week with a press release touting their (somewhat optimistic) total of 12 constructors' championships. It is true that Renault-powered cars have won 12 titles, but in the French company's 18 seasons as an F1 constructor—building their own chassis—they won a grand total of two constructors' championships. Renault's time as a constructor is split into two stints, from 1977 to 1985 and from 2002 to 2010, and their titles came in 2005 and 2006, with Fernando Alonso and Giancarlo Fisichella behind the wheel. Renault's 10 other championships came as an engine supplier for Williams, Red Bull and Benetton (the Enstone-based team Renault bought in 2002, which then became Lo...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.