Skip to content


Would a Winless 2014 Sprint Cup Champ Be a Good or Bad Thing for NASCAR?

NASCAR created the Chase for the Sprint Cup (originally the Nextel Cup) in 2004. After Matt Kenseth won the final Winston Cup in 2003 and captured just one win in the entire season, the Chase was seen as a way to reward winning over consistency. It hasn’t always worked out that way in the first 10 years of the Chase—Jimmie Johnson won six of the first 10 championships through both wins AND consistency. When NASCAR announced its reformatted Chase this year, including a historic playoff and elimination format, wins were supposed to be paramount to not only qualify for the Chase, but to ultimately win it. But here we are three races from the crowning of the championship, and one-quarter of the eight drivers remaining have yet ...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.