Skip to content


Indy 500 Winner: Tony Kanaan Wins 97th Edition of Historic Race

Tony Kanaan made history on Sunday afternoon, as he was the first to cross the finish line at the 97th Indianapolis 500 after the race saw the lead change a record 68 times.According to the public relations Twitter account for IndyCar, the number of lead changes was nearly double the previous record of 34, set just a year ago:Kanaan took the lead in the 197th lap after Dario Franchitti, who sought the fourth Indy 500 win of his career, hit the wall. From there, it was relatively smooth sailing—or driving—for one of the race’s fan favorites, who finished first under caution.Here's a look at Kanaan drinking the celebratory bottle of milk after winning the race.Kanaan had been unsuccessful in 11 previous attempts at the Indy ...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Motorsports
Article is property of

Posted in MotorSports.